“I was late for this, late for that,
Late for the love of my life
And when I die alone,
When I die alone,
When I die, I’ll be on time”-Cleopatra, The Lumineers

In my rush to respond
Grammar is forgotten,
my spellings are skewed
and if you knew me, you’d know
why I felt the need to
write a poem asking if
you understand
that
in my haste,
I forget that you dictate
the consequences of
my sentences;
that the answers I don’t give
are the ones that give
too much away;
that not being late is not
the same as being there
at the right moment
just as not being cold is not
the same as being warm.

5 thoughts on “Missed you by a moment

Add yours

      1. Thank you very much. I find it really surprising how even I had used a similar Baskerville theme for my first ‘poetry’ blog “Songs of a Ruin”. Now I have turned it into a book.
        I guess, we have a knack for the awesome. High five stranger! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

